In English

The Finnish Society of Nephrology is founded in 1970. Its purpose is to enhance teaching and studying of nephrology and to improve treatment of nephrological patients. The society gives statements concerning its interests in Finland and among international nephrological societies. It arranges national, open lectures and has even hosted international meetings. The main nephrological educational congresses in Finland are meetings of the society in March and in October. The society gives biannually the Börje Kuhlbäck -prize to an outstanding member and also biannually the Young Scientist prize to a promising young researcher. Nowadays the society has 188 members. President of the society is M.D., PhD Virpi Rauta (virpi.rauta(at) and secretary M.D., PhD Mikko Haapio (mikko.haapio(at)